Tuesday , 27 February 2024
Home News IOC-A wins team championship

IOC-A wins team championship

PSPB Chess
Members of the winning team - IOC-A From left to right - GM R. Praggnanandhaa, GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly (Captain), GM B. Adhiban, GM Murali Karthikeyan and GM Raunak Sadhwani.

By Kirti Patil

Pune: Indian Oil Corporation (IOC)-A defeated Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC)-A in the summit clash to win the team championship of the 32nd Petroleum Sports Promotion Board Inter-Unit Chess Tournament, being played at the PYC Gymkhana here on Friday.

IOC-A defeated ONGC-A with the score of 2.5-1.5.

In the final, on the top Board, Grandmaster R Praggnanandhaa of IOC-A defeated Grandmaster Vidit Gujarathi of ONGC-A in the only decisive encounter between the two teams. In a Queen’s Gambit Declined Variation, Praggnanandhaa obtained a slight advantage and played flawlessly to score an important victory.

On the second Board, the game between Grandmaster Murali Karthikeyan of IOC -A and Grandmaster Koneru Humpy of ONGC-A ended in a draw when both players could not make any progress in a Queen-Pawn opening game.

On the third Board, Grandmaster Raunak Sadhwani of IOC-A drew with Grandmaster Mitrabha Guha of ONGC-A. On the fourth Board, Grandmaster Adhiban B of IOC-A also drew with Grandmaster Sethuraman S. P. of ONGC-A in Queens Indian Defence.

Earlier in the semi-finals, ONGC-A got the better of ONGC-B with a score of 3-1 to advance to the final. On the top Board, Grandmaster Vidit Gujrathi of ONGC-A was held to a draw by International Master V. S. Raahul of ONGC-B.

On the second Board, Woman International Master Isha Sharma was held to a draw by Grandmaster Mitrabha Guha. However, on the third and fourth Boards, Grandmasters S .P. Sethuraman and Deep Sengupta (both ONGC-A) prevailed over Grandmaster Neelotpal Das and International Master P. Konguvel (both ONGC-B), respectively.

In the other semi-final IOC-A won against Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) with the score of 2.5-1.5 to move into the final. On the top Board, Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta of BPCL played a very dynamic game to score over Grandmaster R. Praggnanandhaa of IOC-A in a Kings Indian Defence. On the second Board, Grandmaster Murali Karthikeyan of IOC-A signed the peace treaty against Grandmaster M. R. Venkatesh of BPCL in a Queen Ending.

On the third Board, Grandmaster Raunak Sadhwani of IOC-A scored against Grandmaster Vaibhav Suri of BPCL when the latter losing a piece in time pressure from a complex Sicilian encounter.

On the fourth Board, Grandmaster B. Adhiban of IOC-A employed the French defence and strategically outplayed Grandmaster G N Gopal of BPCL, which helped IOC-A in reaching the final.

In the team championship, BPCL finished third by scoring a massive 3.5-0.5 victory over ONGC-B.



IOC-A beat ONGC-A 2.5-1.5


GM Murali Karthikeyan (IOC-A) drew with GM Koneru Humpy (ONGC-A).

GM Raunak Sadhwani (IOC-A) drew with GM Mitrabha Guha (ONGC-A) .

GM B. Adibhan (IOC-A) drew with GM Sethuraman S. P. (ONGC-A).


ONGC A beat ONGC-B WITH 3-1.

GM Vidit Gujarathi (ONGC-A) drew with IM V. S. Raahul (ONGC-B).

GM Mitrabha Guha (ONGC-A) drew with WIM Isha Sharma (ONGC-B).

GM Sethuraman S. P. bt GM Neelotpal Das (ONGB-B).

GM Deep Sengupta (ONGC-A) bt IM P. Konguvel (ONGB-B).

Semi-final 2:

IOC-A beat BPCL 2.5-1.5

GM R. Praggnandhaa(IOC-A) lost to GM Abjbhijeet Gupta (BPCL).

GM Murali Karthikeyan (IOC-A) drew with GM.  R. Venkatesh (BPCL).


GM B. ADHIBAN (IOC-A) bt GM G .N. Gopal (BPCL) .

Written by
Sanjay Jadhav

With over a decade of extensive experience in both print and online media, I am a seasoned journalist who has consistently demonstrated proficiency across diverse beats. My expertise encompasses coverage in Sports, Motorsports, Business, Features, Travel, Manufacturing, and Automation. Committed to delivering high-quality content, I am equally passionate about Travel, Food, and Aviation, bringing a multifaceted perspective to my journalistic endeavors.

Leave a comment

Related Articles

MSME Defence Expo 2024 Concludes on a High Note, Showcasing the Future of India’s Defence Sector

The first MSME Defence Expo 2024, marking Maharashtra’s debut in hosting a...

Škoda Auto Volkswagen India awarded Platinum Rating for Green Manufacturing Warehouse, Setting New Industry Standards

Škoda Auto Volkswagen India Private Limited (SAVWIPL) has been recognised as the...

Finolex Cables Expands its Footprint in Maharashtra with a Significant Investment of Rs. 580 crores

Finolex Cables Ltd., a key player in the optic fibre cables sector,...

Louis Philippe Launches the Exquisite ‘Royal Indian Wedding’ Collection

Louis Philippe, India’s leading premium menswear brand from Aditya Birla Fashion and...